I’ve focused on committees and programs in which I played a leadership role. For a hard copy of my CV, with a more complete listing of my service activities, please email me.





College-Level Steering Committee, National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE), 2013-2016.


Executive Committee, Modern Language Association (MLA) Division on the Teaching of Writing, 2012-present.


First-Level Review, Conference on College Composition and Communication (CCCC), 2015


CCCC LGBTQ Awards Selection Committee, 2013-2014.


CCCC Committee on LGBT Issues (Co-Chair), 2009-2010.


Second-Level Review, CCCC, 2010



College and University (Cal State San Bernardino)


Retention, Promotion, and Tenure committee (Chair), 2009-10.


Educational Policy & Resources Committee, for the Cal State San Bernardino Faculty Senate, 2006-2008 (chair 2007-2008); 2012-2014.


Diversity Committee, 2003-2004.


Faculty Senate, 2002-08 and 2010-2011.


Faculty Senate Executive Committee (Executive Secretary), 2003-2004.


Gateway Task Force, to research, recommend, and implement improvements to first-year curriculum (Co-Chair), 2004-06.


GLBT-Straight Alliance Faculty Sponsor, 2003-06.


Graduate Council (Chair), 2012-2014.


Ombudsman Search Committee (appointed by university president), 2005-06.





Michigan State University, Department of Writing, Rhetoric, and American Cultures


Professional Writing/Experience Architecture Curriculum Committee, 2016- .


Cal State San Bernardino Department of English


Author of departmental self-study report for purposes of University accreditation, 2015-16


Basic Writing Portfolio Assessment Committee, 2000-01.


Budget Committee, 2009-2011.


Center for Prose Studies (Co-Director), 2004-2016.


Chair Review Committee, 2005-06.


Composition Committee, 1999-2006; 2009-2011; 2012-2016.


Graduate Committee, 1999-2011 and 2012-present.


Part-Time Evaluation Committee, 2007-08 and 2015-16.


Recruitment Committee (Chair), 2003-04; 2006-07; and 2014-15.


Retention, Promotion, and Tenure committee (Chair), 2010-11; 2012-13; and 2013-14.


Retention, Promotion, and Tenure committee, 2004-05.